NJCAA Division One WOMen's Basketball
National Champions
1975 to Present
The first NJCAA Women's Basketball Championship Tournament was held in Overland Park, KS in 1975 at Johnson County CC. It was the brainstorm of then JCCC President, Orville Gregory. Gregory's idea for the Tournament was born, ironically, when the JCCC Men missed its bid for participation in the 1973 men's National Tournament. If the men's team could feel such disappointment at not making the tournament, what must the women players feel when they didn't even have a National Tournament to go to? After a couple of years to build momentum, the decision was made to have the Tournament on the Johnson Co. CC campus. JCCC would host the Tournament for eight years, from 1975 to 1982. The Tournament was moved from JCCC in 1983 when Northwest Mississippi JC in Senatobia, MS was awarded the bid to host the event. After a six year stay in Mississippi, the Tournament was moved to Tyler Junior College in Tyler, TX beginning with the 1989 Championship. In 1998 the Tournament was relocated to Salina, KS where it found a home at the Bicentennial Center for 18 years. The 2016 Championship marked the first year of the event at Lubbock Christian University in Lubbock, TX. The NJCAA only had one division until 1992 when it expanded to three.
Year National Champion Runner-Up Score
2017 Gulf Coast State College, FL Trinity Valley CC, TX 87-63
2016 Gulf Coast State College, FL Trinity Valley CC, TX 63-47
2015 Chipola College, FL Hutchinson CC, KS 54-46
2014 Trinity Valley CC, TX Hutchinson CC, KS 65-46
2013 Trinity Valley CC, TX Central Arizona College 83-71
2012 Trinity Valley CC, TX Hutchinson CC, KS 69-55
2011 North Idaho College Trinity Valley CC, TX 90-81
2010 Gulf Coast CC, FL Jefferson College, MO 83-61
2009 Central Arizona College Jefferson College, MO 78-71
2008 Gulf Coast CC, FL Central Arizona College 62-61
2007 Odessa College, TX Central Arizona College 73-50
2006 Monroe CC, NY Odessa College, TX 76-64
2005 Central Arizona College College of Southern Idaho 83-50
2004 Trinity Valley CC, TX Gulf Coast CC, FL 77-66
2003 Gulf Coast CC, FL Western Nebraska CC 81-42
2002 Seward County CC, KS Northeastern Oklahoma A&M 87-80
2001 Cloud County CC, KS Midland College, TX 71-56
2000 Tyler Junior College, TX Southeastern Illinois College 57-39
1999 Trinity Valley CC, TX Central Arizona College 77-53
1998 Central Arizona College Trinity Valley CC, TX 76-63
1997 Trinity Valley CC, TX Central Florida CC 79-69
1996 Trinity Valley CC, TX Independence CC, KS 69-55
1995 Westark CC, AR Trinity Valley CC, TX 82-75
1994 Trinity Valley CC, TX Westark CC, AR 104-95
1993 Kilgore College, TX Louisburg College, NC 104-99
1992 Louisburg College, NC Central Florida CC 104-89
1991 Odessa College, TX Palm Beach CC, FL 88-83
1990 Kilgore College, TX Barton County CC, KS 84-75
1989 Central Arizona College Connors State College, OK 77-57
1988 Kilgore College, TX John A. Logan College, IL 78-71
1987 Northeast Mississippi JC St. Gregory's College, OK 68-64
1986 Odessa College, TX Northeast Mississippi JC 80-69
1985 Connors State College, OK Odessa College, TX 73-71
1984 Roane State CC, TN Northwest Mississippi JC 69-53
1983 Northwest Mississippi JC Cumberland JC, TN 75-69
1982 Moberly Area JC, MO Louisburg College, NC 73-72
1981 Louisburg College, NC Moberly Area JC, MO 65-63
1980 Truett-McConnell College, GA Cloud County CC, KS 63-61
1979 Northern Oklahoma College-Tonkawa Tyler Junior College, TX 74-52
1978 Panola Junior College, TX East Mississippi JC 67-63
1977 Panola Junior College, TX Seminole Junior College, OK 69-68
1976 Seminole Junior College, OK Jackson CC, MI 83-74
1975 Temple Junior College, TX North Iowa Area CC 59-58

Email Webmaster

NJCAA Records